Representation/Nomination Team Report to Yellowstone Presbytery November 2020

The Representation/Nomination Team worked faithfully and prayerfully to secure qualified people who felt called to serve in particular positions in and on behalf of Yellowstone Presbytery. The team worked together during four Zoom meetings and numerous emails to one another to fulfill the work entrusted to us. Team members did an outstanding job in discussing the needs we feel need to be raised to the Presbytery and in seeking qualified people to say "yes" to God's call for service. I am grateful to Jody McDevitt, Robert Culbertson, Lanny Rounds, and George Goodrich, our faithful staff person, for the good job they have done.

You will see on the teams a fairly good, though not perfect, balance of MWS/RE, cultural background, age, and geographic representation. The Leadership Cabinet will include 6 females and 4 males, for a total of 10 members, if the Presbytery approves the setting aside the Standing Rules to allow Teresa Kendall to serve one additional year on the Cabinet, for a total of 7 years of service. The Pastoral Ministry Team is will be composed of 6 males and 5 females with 1 position left to be filled, and the Camping and Youth Ministry Team will be made up of 4 males and 4 females if those nominated by the Representation/Nomination Team are elected. Team members gave highest priority to finding and nominating the right persons to fill available positions.

We on the Team thank everyone who considered serving, whether you felt the time was right for you to accept a particular position or not.

Respectfully submitted, Caroline Fleming, Team Moderator

Working together and led by God's Spirit, the Representation/Nomination Team recommends the following action items and slate of nominees to Yellowstone Presbytery:

Action Items

In seeking the best possible candidates, the team looked to what has worked well this past year and asks Yellowstone Presbytery to set aside the Standing Rules to allow two things to happen:

1. <u>We recommend that Section 5.01 of the Standing Rules be set aside for one year to allow</u> <u>the number of people serving on Leadership Cabinet to be 10 for the year 2021, and that</u> <u>Teresa Kendall be allowed to serve an additional one-year term on the Cabinet, giving her 7</u> <u>years of service on the Cabinet.</u>

Reasoning: Teresa Kendall has done an outstanding job as Moderator of Leadership Council, we believe it would be wise for her to serve on the Cabinet as Moderator for an additional year. This requires having 10 people serve on Leadership Cabinet in 2021 when Standing Rules have the number at 7 to 9 people.

2. <u>We recommend that Section 6.02.02</u> of the Standing Rules be set aside for one year to allow J.P. Carlson to serve an additional one-year term on the Pastoral Ministry Team, giving him 7 years of service on PMT, so he can continue in the position of Co-Moderator of the team for 2021.

Reasoning: Debbie Blackburn and J.P. Carlson have done an excellent job working together and co-moderating the Pastoral Ministry Team in 2020. This year (2020) was the first time we have had Co-Moderators for this team and we would like to continue with the practice. Both are willing to continue to serve as co-moderators for the coming year.

3. If the way be clear following action on the preceding items 1 and 2, the Representation and Nomination Team commends to Yellowstone Presbytery the following slate of officers, moderators and team members for your election:

(NOTE: Names in green, bold and underlined are the nominees for election. All team members are listed so you can see the representation balance on each team.)

Moderator of Presbytery: RE Julie Boksich

Vice Moderator of Presbytery: MWS Dave Thompson

LEADERSHIP CABINET (7-9 people)

2021 Moderator: Teresa Kendall

Class of 2021

MWS - Susan Thomas RE – Russ Kline (2020 Moderator of Presbytery) <u>MWS - Chuck Carlson</u> <u>MWS – Teresa Kendall</u>

Class of 2022

RE - Suzanne Bratsky RE – Ric Tieman (finances) MWS – Jamie Schmeling

Class of 2023

<u>CRE - Margee Smith</u> <u>MWS – Dave Thompson</u> <u>RE – Julie Boksich</u>

PASTORAL MINISTRY TEAM: (12)

2021 Co- Moderators: RE - Debbie Blackburn and MWS - JP Carlson

Class of 2021

RE – Charlie Brown <u>MWS - JP Carlson, 2021 Co-Moderator</u> MWS – Debbie Funke RE - Graham Smith

Class of 2022

RE – Gail Beckham MWS – John Dyce

MWS – Neva Rathbun

RE – Chuck Wright

Class of 2023

<u>MWS –</u> <u>MWS - Steve Hundley</u> <u>RE – Debbie Blackburn, 2021 Co-Moderator</u> <u>RE – Linda Smith</u>

CAMPING and YOUTH MINISTRY TEAM (8)

2021 Moderator: Dan Triller

Class of 2021

<u>MWS - Lanny Rounds</u> RE - Sandy Welch Kristin Kochner

Class of 2022

MWS – Brent Long RE - Nancy Pehl RE - Jeff Harada

Class of 2023

<u>RE – Jody Andersen</u> <u>MWS – Dan Triller</u>

PERMANENT JUDICIAL COMMISION (6-year term)

Class of 2022 TE – Lanny Rounds TE – Jody McDevitt

Class of 2024

<u>TE - Neva Rathbun</u> <u>RE – John Patterson</u> <u>RE - Pam Jackson</u>

Class of 2026

<u>RE – Gail Beckham</u> <u>RE – Gary Helming</u>

SYNOD COMMISSIONERS - 2 year term

Class of 2021 RE - Jim Tarr

Class of 2022

TE - Teresa Kendall